Cannibal Caterpillars

The Cinnabar Moth Caterpillar is known for its bright yellow/orange and black band on the body.

These caterpillars were introduced to North America to reduce weeds like Ragwort.

Ok, so I let my backyard grow out like nature would and its let me seen wild life-like rabbits, ducks, and even a marmot, but this is the first time I’ve seen Cinnabar Moth Caterpillars. I’ve learned a lot about them doing some research on the web.

They cluster together to protect themselves against predators but are known to become cannibalistic towards each other when there is a shortage of food but sometimes even when it is abundant. They are also known to become aggressive towards each other as they get older.

I used my Nikon D800 to take the video and slide show at the end of the video. I used my SB800 with diffuser in TTL mode which provided the nice lighting for the pictures.

Leave a Reply

